Everything I Learned From My First YouTube Video

So, in case you didn’t hear, I made a YouTube video. It basically amounts to me drunkenly rambling about a book I read (or listened to rather). It was a lot of fun, and I’m excited to do more. I also learned a few things that I’d like to share with you. Think of this as sort of your crash course from a first time YouTuber.

1. Editing Is A Bitch

There really isn’t any other way to say it. Editing is tough. I imagine it is easier with higher end software (or at the very least a Macbook). But, I don’t have any fancy software, yet alone the resources to buy it (editing software is crazy expensive). All I had at hand was Windows Movie Maker (which isn’t terrible, I guess) and the YouTube editor. The YouTube editor was irritating, but it was also kind of simple to use, so that was helpful.

But, yeah, editing is hard. I hear it gets easier as you figure out what you’re doing, so I guess I’ll just have to keep it up.

2. Equipment Is Also A Bitch

This first video taught me that I am going to have to invest in some things. I like to think that for my first video it didn’t turn out terribly. The video was shot with my camcorder propped up on some boxes. I also managed the light by putting a bright lamp on my computer tower and casting it with an umbrella, like so:

Talk about a ghetto rig.
Talk about a ghetto rig.

If I want the quality to improve in my videos, I’m gonna have to get a tripod. I also need a better mic because the one on my camera sounds like a bag of dicks choking on another, larger back of dicks. I have seen a lot of equipment that will help me record on my iPhone, and honestly that may be the direction I go for most of my work.

3. Some Graphics Will Help

I’m sure everyone enjoyed hearing me ramble for 10 minutes with nothing of particular interest happening. And by enjoyed it, I mean probably watched for ten seconds, didn’t laugh, and turned the video off. That’s okay. I forgive them, because frankly the video was a little dry. That’s why I’m going to try and spice things up with some nice animations this time around. It will help everything out a lot I think.

4. I Should Also Plan Ahead A Little Bit More

Yeah, I was drunk when I made the video, but I still think the video needed a bit more focus. If I had written out things I wanted to say before hand (instead of the god awful “outline” I prepared), I think it would have turned out better. I wouldn’t have edited out so much, and I probably could have cracked a few more jokes because I had actually stewed on it.

But, it’s a learning process, and hopefully this helped you out if you’re thinking of doing your own videos. Hopefully you can learn from my mistakes, as I have.

Anyway, if you want to watch the video, you can below:

Also be sure to buy The Martian by Andy Weir here.

Published by

Caleb Clark

I'm simply a young writer out to make his mark on the world. I particularly enjoy works of fantasy and horror, but I read a wide variety of topics and genres. I am a freelance writer, and I have regular posts on several sites, namely TechVise and Tech Malak. I try to upkeep my blog, where I talk about writing and theater mostly while cracking terrible jokes.

Leave a Reply

